Werner-von-Siemens-Str. 15
82140 Olching / Germany

Phone: +49 (0)8142 / 28 64-0
Fax: +49 (0)8142 / 28 64-11

Please contact us. We are glad to help!

(Fields with an * are required)
  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Français

Pyroelectric Detectors

Pyroelectric detectors are thermal detectors; i.e. they create an electric signal due to temperature changes in the chip. This temperature change is caused by absorption of light. We do use LiTaO3 and DLaTGS as pyroelectric materials. Basically such detectors cover the whole spectra. However, they are mainly used for mid-wave and long-wave infrared detection (MWIR and LWIR). In addition, the usage in the THz region seems to become more popular these days.

Our Differential Pyroelectric detectors use our new dual ended amplification scheme, giving double the output. Currently available in single channel CM versions.

Pyroelectric LiTaO3 single channel detectors available for current mode, CM, and voltage mode, VM. Used for gas detection or flame detection.

In this section one will find pyroelectric LiTaO3 detectors with dual, triple or quad channels. Mostly used for gas analysis.

Deuterated Lanthanum α Alanine doped Triglycine Sulphate (DLATGS) detectors have the most effective pyroelectric effect known. Their major application is FTIR.

The IR filter makes the difference. Thermal detectors are naturally polychromatic and a filter is needed to detect specific gases/wavelengths.

How to contact us

+49 (0)8142 / 28 64-0

Or contact us by e-mail:

A pyroelectric IR detector is a thermal detector in that it responds to the change in heat (IR) absorbed on its surface. Thermal detectors are polychromatic with a very wide spectral bandwidth. The nature of the pyroelectric effect is that in a highly-ordered crystal (or ceramic), a temperature change in the element causes its atoms to move slightly out of position. This rearranges its electrical charge, which is measured in the electrodes on its surface.
The pyroelectric effect is found in many materials.  The most commonly-used materials are deuterated lanthanum α alanine-doped triglycine sulfate (DLaTGS) and lithium tantalate (LTO).